TOWSON, Md. – February 22, 2013 - The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has informed University of Maryland St. Joseph Medical Center that it has approved a provider agreement with the Towson medical center.


Although the hospital had a previous long-standing provider agreement with CMS, the medical center sought a new agreement following its acquisition by the University of Maryland Medical System (UMMS) on December 1, 2012. In the days following the transfer of ownership to UMMS, site visits were made by The Joint Commission and by the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, acting as agents of CMS.

The Joint Commission conducted a site visit mid-December 2012 and awarded the University of Maryland St. Joseph Medical Center its Gold Seal of accreditation. The Joint Commission is an independent, not-for-profit organization that accredits and certifies more than 20,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.

The process for CMS approval of the provider agreement with St. Joseph involved two site visits in December and follow-up actions by the medical center to address requirements specified by CMS. Throughout the period of review by CMS, St. Joseph Medical Center continued to provide care for Medicare patients.

“Our commitment to the community was to ensure that patients had uninterrupted access to critical medical care while we completed our process with the regulators," noted Mohan Suntha, M.D., president and CEO of the University of Maryland St. Joseph Medical Center.

“This agreement with CMS further fuels the pride felt by our employees, medical staff, patients, volunteers and the community for St. Joseph Medical Center and for its nearly 150 years of service to families in Baltimore and beyond,” expressed former state Senator Francis X. Kelly, who serves as chair of the University of Maryland St. Joseph Medical Center Board of Directors. “With this agreement in place, we are now ready for the task of moving the medical center forward.”

# # #


Media Contact: Mary Lynn Carver